thereturnbanner

The Return by Ellie Stewart

Inspired by the true story of Martin Guerre,  The Return  is a gripping play about the mystery of identity and the survival instinct, and asks whether we can ever truly know even those we love the best.

France, 1560.  In the foothills of the Pyrenees, Bertrande tends to her livestock and mothers her young son, seven years after her husband disappeared.  One day a stranger, Arnaud, walks into her life, and before long they decide to present him to the world as her long-lost husband - returned.

But is it possible that it really is her husband?

Commissioned and premiered by Eden Court, and written by Ellie Stewart, a rising star of Scottish playwriting, The Return  is produced by the same creative team behind Eden Court's Not About Heroes  in 2015.

Tour Dates:

Eden Court Theatre | Inverness
Thursday 15 - Sat 17 February

Howden Park Centre | Livingston
Tuesday 20 February

Macrobert Arts Centre | Stirling
Wednesday 21 February

Cumbernauld Theatre | Cumbernauld
Thursday 22 February

Tron Theatre | Glasgow
Friday 23 February

The Byre Theatre | St Andrews
Saturday 24 February

Strathearn Art Space | Creiff
Tuesday 27 February

Traverse Theatre | Edinburgh
Wednesday 28 February & Thursday 1 March

New Deer Public Hall | New Deer
Friday 2 March

The Lemon Tree | Aberdeen
Saturday 3 March

MacPhail Centre | Ullapool
Monday 5 March

Locharron Village Hall | Locharron
Wednesday 7 March

Boat of Garten Community Hall | Boat of Garten
Thursday 8 March

Braemar Village Hall | Braemar
Friday 9 March

Tullynessle & Forbes Hall | Alford
Saturday 10 March

World Premiere

Written by Ellie Stewart | Directed by Philip Howard

More Information:

Please contact venues for booking information.

Date and Location:

Various Locations

Start Date: Friday, 23 February, 2018

End Date: Friday, 23 February, 2018


Address: 63 Trongate, Glasgow, G1 5HB

Follow Playwrights’ Studio, Scotland on:

Facebook Twitter