Playwrights announced as part of Playwrights’ Studio, Scotland Playwright Development Programme 2018

Playwrights' Studio, Scotland are delighted to announce the 15 playwrights who have been selected to take part in the 2018 Playwright Development Programme. 

This Programme consists of the Mentoring Programme (for aspiring and emerging playwrights), New Playwrights Awards (for emerging and early-career playwrights) and Research and Development Projects (for experienced mid-career and established professional playwrights). 

Mentoring Programme

Daniel Cameron is one third of the Artistic Creative Team for In Motion Theatre Company. His plays include The Cage.  He is currently developing his new play CARAVAN with the In Motion Theatre Company team.

Jack Elliot is the Artistic Director of Edinburgh theatre company, Blazing Hyena. His plays include One, Two, Three YippeeDeath is the New Porn and For the Love of Cousins.

Jill Franklin's plays include Some Sunny Day, The Basics and Hindsight, which was shortlisted for the 2016 David MacLennan award.

Isobel McArthur is based in Glasgow. Her plays include How to Sing it and Daphne Oram's Wonderful World of Sound.

Isla Robertson is originally from the West Highlands. Her plays include On Air, The Coffin Race and Fairplay.

Laura Tansley's short pieces for theatre have been performed as readings at Stage to Page, The Progressive Playwright and as part of the Village Pub Theatre and Stellar Quines' International Day of the Girl.

The playwrights will be mentored by Oliver Emanuel, Johnny McKnight and Morna Pearson in a six month Programme of mentoring sessions which concludes with an individual read-through with professional actors and directors and a public sharing of extracts from all six plays.

New Playwrights Awards

Victoria Beesley is Artistic Director of Terra Incognita. Her plays include My Friend Selma and Invisible Army. She has been Artist in Residence at Aberdeen Performing Arts, Toonspeak Young People's Theatre and Writer on Attachment with Imaginate at the National Theatre of Scotland.

Catriona Lexy Campbell is the recipient of the Gaelic New Playwrights Award. Originally from the Isle of Lewis, Catriona spent much of her life in Plockton, Lochalsh. She was the first Gaelic Associate Artist with the National Theatre of Scotland and her first radio play for the BBC, based on her novel Samhraidhean Diomhair, was broadcast in 2012. Stage plays include Doras Dùinte, Shrapnel, a stage adaptation of her father, Tormod Caimbeul's, novel of the same name and Ceilidh, co-written with Màiri Sìne Chaimbeul.

Maryam Hamidi is a multi-disciplinary writer, theatre maker and actor. She co-wrote the Amnesty Award nominated The Chronicles of Irania  with A Moment's Peace Theatre Company. Her plays include The Builders, Archaeology, Poppies, Fat yellow-bellies and Crow, a new mythology based on The Life and Times of Crow by Ted Hughes.

Mairead Martin is originally from the Isle of Skye and is currently based in Ullapool. Her plays include Sapna and she translated Katie Morag into Gaelic for episodes of the 2015 season on BBC Alba.

Andrew Thompson was born and raised in Sunderland and moved to Edinburgh to focus on writing. His plays includeIn Event of Moone Disaster - Winner of the Theatre503 International Playwriting Award 2016,Promises,The Allotment,Timebomb,Spear-Carriers, andThe Merchant.

Playwrights receive a package of support, over a year, which includes a £2,000 cash bursary, three mentoring sessions, a week-long retreat and a day of script development with a professional director and actors.

Research & Development Projects

Fiona Evans is best known for her play Scarborough, which won a Scotsman Fringe First Award at Edinburgh Festival Fringe and transferred to the Royal Court. Other plays include My Boy and Medea and Electra. She is based in Ayrshire and is currently developing a feminist re-visioning of Hippolytus, as well as Brecht's Threepenny Bits, a play with music about Brecht's forgotten female collaborators.

James Ley is a playwright living in Leith, Edinburgh. His plays include Love Song to Lavender Menace and The Ego Plays: I Heart MathsSpain; and Up. James is a founding member of Village Pub Theatre (VPT), a Leith-based writing collective, that presents readings of work in a Leith pub.

Euan Martin is based in Forres, Moray. Writer with Right Lines Productions along with Dave Smith his shows include: The Accidental Death of an Accordionist, The WeddingWatching BluebottlesWho Bares WinsIllicitFrom These PartsBe Silent or Be KilledThe Great Tartan Haggis of Tooriebrochan!Morrison's Van (an online radio comedy) and Whisky Kisses.

Lynda Radley is an award-winning playwright and dramaturg who has been working in professional theatre for over a decade. Her plays includeDORM, Futureproof,Berlin Love Tour and The Art of Swimming.

Research & Development Projects provide resources and project management support to research new ideas, or to further develop drafts of existing full-length scripts.

Other activities during 2018

During 2018, we will continue to announce more of the playwrights who will be involved in our other activities such as our ongoing Professional and Public Workshop Programmes, the Scottish Borders Playwriting Programme, the New Zealand Playwright Residency. the Dr Gavin Wallace Fellowship 2018 and others.

Follow Playwrights’ Studio, Scotland on: Facebook Twitter