Pre: View & JTB Prize for Drama


Thomas Ambrosini, Helen Gilmore, Laurie Motherwell & Kay Singh

Four readings from four brand new plays by four emerging playwrights from Scotland, England and the USA.

The Storm Before by Tommy Ambrosini​

Beelz, an oily faith healer, runs a traveling circus and church in 1920'sAmerica, but his business comes under threat when Elizabeth, a little girl, challenges him to make a miracle and find her parents.

Wall is Over by Helen Gilmore​

In Prague, a mural of John Lennon symbolises hope and freedom. Twenty-five years after The Velvet Revolution, four art students whitewash it, and daub the message Wall Is Over.

The Ruler of the Root by Laurie Motherwell​

Laura can freeze time, a very useful super power, especially on this dangerous journey she's making, armed only with her Dad's old umbrella.

Ellie Dee by Kay Singh​

In the not-so-distant future, Ellie Dee, a digital avatar, fulfils every request, watches every moment, records every secret.

Extracts from the plays were performed as script-in-hand readings by professional actors. All writers graduated from the MSc in Playwriting at the University of Edinburgh.


James Tait Black Prize for Drama - Award Ceremony

The latest recipient of the James Tait Black Prize for Drama was announced on Monday 24th August  at the Traverse Theatre.

The plays, Tomorrow Come Today by Gordon Dahlquist, first produced by Undermain Theatre, Texas; The James Plays by Rona Munro, presented by National Theatre of Scotland, Edinburgh International Festival and National Theatre of Great Britain and Incognito by Nick Payne, a Live Theatre, Nabokov & High Tide Festival Theatre production in association with The North Wall, cover the subjects of body-swapping, the theft of Albert Einstein's brain and Medieval Scottish kings. 

Extracts from the three finalists' submissions were presented, followed by the announcement of this year's winner.

This £10,000 prize was awarded by the University of Edinburgh to the best new play worldwide, demonstrating an original theatrical voice and making a significant contribution to the artform. In 2014, the Prize went to Rory Mullarkey for his play Cannibals.



Edinburgh Uni         Fringe logo         Traverse Theatre

Image credit: Eoin Carey

Follow Playwrights’ Studio, Scotland on: Facebook Twitter