James Tait Black for Drama 2016 - The Award Ceremony

The 2016 James Tait Black Prize for Drama culminates at The Traverse on Monday 22 August with a special event announcing this year's winner.

Join the shortlisted playwrights, judges and other partners for performed readings from the finalists' plays.

The nominated playwrights will offer insight into their work and inspiration with on-stage interviews following each performance, ahead of the winner announcement.

The James Tait Black Prizes are Britain's oldest book awards, founded in 1919, and presented by the oldest centre for English Literature in the world at the University of Edinburgh.

The University launched the Drama Prize in 2012, when the awards were extended to include a new category to celebrate playwriting.

This £10,000 Prize is awarded to the best new play worldwide, demonstrating an original voice and making a significant contribution to the artform.

In 2015, the award went to Gordon Dahlquist for his body-swapping sci-fi drama, Tomorrow Come Today. Rona Munro was shortlisted for The James Plays and Nick Payne for Incognito.

Past Prizes Winners:

2015: Tomorrow Come Today by Gordon Dahlquist.
2014: Cannibals  by Rory Mullarkey.
2013: The Radicalisation of Bradley Manning by Tim Price

Edinburgh Uni         Fringe Logo 2016         Traverse Theatre

Photo Credit: Jane Barlow

Follow Playwrights’ Studio, Scotland on: Facebook Twitter