James Tait Black for Drama: The Award Ceremony

The James Tait Black Prize for Drama culminates at The Traverse on Monday 21 August with a special event announcing this year's winner.

Directed by Alan McKendrick

Join some of today's most innovative playwrights for an afternoon of insightful interviews and performed readings.

The James Tait Black Prize for Drama celebrates ground-breaking drama produced worldwide in the last year. The £10,000 prize is awarded to the play that most clearly demonstrates an original voice and makes a significant contribution to the artform.

During the ceremony, extracts from the three shortlisted plays will be performed and thought-provoking discussions held with the playwrights about their work, before the winner of the esteemed prize is revealed.

In 2016, Gary Owen's stunning one-woman monologue, Iphigenia in Splott, was the fourth play to win the prize.

Previous winners: Gordon Dahlquist's sci-fi thriller Tomorrow Come Today (2015), Rory Mullarkey's first full-length play, Cannibals (2014) and acclaimed drama The Radicalisation of Bradley Manning (2013) by Tim Price.

The James Tait Black Prizes are Britain's oldest book prizes, founded in 1919, and awarded by the oldest centre for English Literature in the world at the University of Edinburgh.

The University has led the award since 2012, when the new category to celebrate playwriting was introduced.

Past Prizes Winners:

2016:  Iphigenia in Splott by Gary Owen
2015Tomorrow Come Today by Gordon Dahlquist.
2014: Cannibals  by Rory Mullarkey.
2013: The Radicalisation of Bradley Manning by Tim Price


Edinburgh Uni         Fringe       Traverse Theatre

Photo Credit: Jane Barlow

Follow Playwrights’ Studio, Scotland on: Facebook Twitter