Iain Finlay Macleod


Iain can be contacted through Playwrights' Studio


Playwrights' Studio

Former Board Member

Iain Finlay Macleod

Iain Finlay MacLeod is a playwright, screenwriter and novelist based on the Isle of Lewis.

Iain's original stage plays include The Pearlfisher; I Was A Beautiful Day; Homers; and  Alexander Salamande; all for the Traverse Theatre, Edinburgh. He has also adapted David Lescot's play  Une Homme En Faillite as Broke  for the Traverse. In addition, Iain Finlay has written Atman and Salvage for Tosg Theatre, and the libretto for The Silver Bough, which was produced by Youth Music Theatre UK.

Iain also collaborated on the multimedia opera St Kilda, which was performed in English, French and Gaelic at the Edinburgh International Festival 2009. The production, for which Iain wrote the libretto, and wrote and directed the filmed elements, was originally performed in June 2007 in six European venues simultaneously which were linked by live satellite connection with St Kilda.

Iain has also written extensively for radio including The Summer Walking, which was adapted from his play The Pearl Fisher; Raven Black, adapted from the novel by Ann Cleeves; The Kitchen Child, adapted from Angela Carter's short story; Frozen; and 15 Minutes To Change The World all for BBC Radio 4. He is also the author of The Treasure Of Puymule for Catherine Bailey Productions.

Iain was a co-writer of the Gaelic-language film Seachd, which was produced by Chris Young at Young Films and is the author of three Gaelic-language novels, The Klondykers, Am Bounty and Empire all of which are published by Gaelic Books Council.

Iain has been working on an adaptation of Ann Cleeves' novel White Nights. He has also been writing his fourth novel. His play, Somersaults, was produced by the National Theatre of Scotland opened at the Traverse Theatre in March 2011.

Follow Playwrights’ Studio, Scotland on: Facebook Twitter